Midpoint Series: Cecelia Morales on Role Models for Young Women

This guest post from Cecelia Morales is part of the 2012 Midpoint Series. See all of the posts in the series here.

My name is Cecelia Morales, I am 17 years old, and I absolutely love using Google. I will Google just about anything if I don’t understand it, and because of this, I am on the Google search engine a lot! Being on it so frequently, I often notice the Google Doodles that are illustrated on the search engine’s home page. It wasn’t until recently that I’ve noticed that a majority of the Doodles represent men and their accomplishments in the world. My wonderfully brilliant cousin, Annie, the creator of this blog, is the one who opened my eyes to Google’s apparent gender bias. This is really disappointing and totally bogus because women have just as much an impact on our world and have made equally important accomplishments! Not to mention that at least 50% of Google’s users are women.

Ever since I was young, I have always admired strong and independent women. Throughout my life I have been surrounded by them: my beautiful mother, both my wonderful grandmothers, and all of my amazing aunts and cousins. I can only hope that as I grow older I will embody the image that I admire so much. But in some cases, girls my age aren’t as lucky as I am. They aren’t exposed to great women role models — and sometimes society and media play a large part in that. This is a widespread issue that definitely will not be conquered by Google Doodles alone, but what if Google recognized this? What if even an effort as small as a Doodle helped expose girls to outstanding women idols?

For all that Google stands for, and for as many girls that Google reaches, the Google Doodle creators should consider portraying a stronger representation of female innovators, leaders, and their accomplishments in their Doodles!!

Here are some examples of magnificent women that I would like to see represented by a Google Doodle:

Amelia Earhart – Born July 24th, she was the first woman to receive the United States Distinguished Flying Cross, which followed after she became being the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic ocean.

Emily Dickinson – Born December 10th, her poetry was not appreciated until after her death, but Dickinson is now considered a major American poet alongside male peers such as Robert Frost and Walt Whitman.

Mother Teresa – Born August 26th,  she worked for 45 years with Missionaries of Charity, which she founded, serving the poor and sick. She received the Noble Peace Prize in 1979 and was beatified by Pope John Paul II after her death.

Harriet Tubman – Born January 29th, she is considered the “Moses of the Civil War” for her major, revolutionary work on the underground railroads. She made 13 missions to rescue more than 70 slaves. She was a significant African American abolitionist and also fought for women’s suffrage.

Margaret Sanger – Born September 14th, she’s responsible for the term “birth control” and the founding of Planned Parenthood. Her efforts contributed to the Supreme Court case that legalized contraception and she is an iconic figure in the American Reproductive Rights Movement.

Ruth Wakefield – Born June 17th, she is the inventor of the Chocolate Chip cookie, specifically the Toll House Cookie Recipe. She partnered with Andrew Nestlé, who started printing her recipe on the back of Nestlé’s chocolate package. In return, she received a lifetime supply of Nestlé chocolate. (How did Google miss this one?!)

An important event that I believe Google Doodles should also include is:

Women’s Suffrage in the United States – The 19th Amendment, granting women’s suffrage, was finally ratified and made into  law throughout the United States on August 26th, 1920.

— Cecelia Morales


Cecelia is a rising senior in high school. She’s a competitive swimmer, a lifeguard, the the driver of a sweet orange VW Beetle. And she’s the cousin of Speaking Up’s founder, Ann Martin, who is incredibly proud of her.

Leave a Reply

